Contents - Index - Previous - Next


Adding and deleting memories


Overview

The clone memory image read from the transceiver includes far more than just the main memories. Because the program uses the radio's Clone function to upload changes to the memories it is necessary to acquire an up-to-date image otherwise you will find other settings may be changed back to an earlier state.

The recommended sequence of events is:-

  a) make a backup image of the radio to an SD card and then use the Read SD Card button followed by the Write Disk File button

  b) add or delete as detailed below

  c) save the modified file to disk using the Write Disk File button and then use the Write SD Card button to produce a file that can be restored to the radio


Setting default values for new memories

Set the entries on the VFO tab to contain the values you would like to appear in new memories. The values for each band are used according to the frequency you enter. Whenever you add a new memory the program uses these settings as the default values. You can also use the Repeater Rules to assign specific offsets, shift directions and tuning steps depending on frequency.


Adding a new memory between existing memories

Adding a new memory is achieved using the 'Insert memory above' command (shortcut Ctrl+I). Right-click on a memory where you wish to insert a new one and choose the 'insert..' command from the pop-up menu. A new 'Empty' memory will be inserted ready for you to customise.


Using 'Empty' memories

To use an Empty row, first of all enter the frequency. Default values for other items in the definition will then appear which you can then change as desired. 


Deleting or Removing a memory

Removing a memory removes it permanently and closes up the empty space. Deleting a memory removes the memory details and leaves an Empty row.

Right-click on the memory you wish to delete or clear and choose the 'Delete memory' command (shortcut Del) or 'Remove memory' command (shortcut Shift+Del) from the pop-up command list.  You will get an OK or Cancel message which requires you to respond OK before the memory is deleted or removed.

To perform the same operation on a block of memories, first of all drag the mouse over the rows to be affected, then perform the delete or remove command.


Compacting Empty memories

If you have a number of Empty rows that you would prefer to not be there use the Compact empty memories command. This will move all Empty memories to the end of the grid.